Patry Francis: All the Children Are Home

REGISTER HERE

Join us as we celebrate the launch of All the Children Are Home with Patry Francis!

A sweeping saga in the vein of Ask Again, Yes following a foster family through almost a decade of dazzling triumph and wrenching heartbreak from Patry Francis, author of The Orphans at Race Point.

Set in the late 1950s through 1960s in a small town in Massachusetts, All the Children Are Home follows the Moscatelli family—Dahlia and Louie, foster parents, and their long-term foster children Jimmy, Zaidie, and Jon—and the irrevocable changes in their lives when a six-year-old indigenous girl, Agnes,  comes to live with them.

When Dahlia decided to become a foster mother, she had a few caveats: no howling newborns, no delinquents, and above all, no girls. A harrowing incident years before left her a virtual prisoner in her own home, forever wary of the heartbreak and limitation of a girl’s life.

Eleven years after they began fostering, Dahlia and Louie consider their family complete, but when the social worker begs them to take a young girl who has been horrifically abused and neglected, they can’t say no.

Six-year-old Agnes Juniper arrives with no knowledge of her Native American heritage or herself beyond a box of trinkets given to her by her mother and dreamlike memories of her sister. As the years pass and outside forces threaten to tear them apart, the children, now young adults, must find the courage and resilience to save themselves and each other. Heartfelt and enthralling, All the Children Are Home is a moving testament to the enduring power of love in the face of devastating loss.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Patry Francis is the author of The Liar's Diary and the blog 100 Days of Discipline for Writers. Her poetry and short stories have appeared in the Tampa ReviewAntioch ReviewColorado ReviewOntario Review, and American Poetry Review, among other publications. She is a three-time nominee for the Pushcart Prize and has twice been the recipient of the Massachusetts Cultural Council Grant. She lives in Massachusetts.

Event date: 

Tuesday, April 13, 2021 - 7:00pm to 7:45pm

Event address: 

Pre-Order Now Badge
All the Children Are Home: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063045453
Availability: Pre-order now. See publication date below.
Published: Harper Perennial - April 13th, 2021

The Orphans of Race Point: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062281302
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
This book cannot be returned due to publisher restrictions.
Published: Harper Perennial - May 6th, 2014