Author Janet Messineo "Casting Into the Light" Thursday evening, July 25 at 6:30pm

Janet Messineo Titcomb's Bookshop "Casting Into the Light" July 25 6:30pm

Janet Messineo—a fishing legend on Martha’s Vineyard—has written a moving, adventurous account of her quest to master the art of surfcasting (catching fish by casting a line from the shoreline), and breaking into a world that was once male-dominated. She writes about the Vineyard fishermen she’s fished with and the fishing women who’ve forged the path for others, along with the unspoken “fishing ethic” and the age-old secrecy behind fishing techniques. From tales of her Derby years and dreams of catching that prize-winning elusive striper, to her journey of learning the skills to find and hook the big fish, Casting into the Light is a rich portrait of following one’s vision—and heart.  Janet will be at the bookshop on July 25 at 6:30 PM to talk about her book, and sign copies.  

Readers will learn all about the art of surfcasting, but this is more than just a fishing tale: it’s for readers of Wild, Into Thin Air, and anyone else who will brave the challenges of nature to achieve their goals. Messineo stops at nothing to learn this sport, which is not just a hobby, but a need—mentally, physically, and spiritually.

Jante Messineo was born in Lawrence, Massachusetts. She is a former president of the Martha's Vineyard Surfcasters Association, and writes a fishing column for the Martha's Vineyard Times. She lives with her husband in Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts.

Event date: 

Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Event address: 

Titcomb's Bookshop
432 Route 6A
East Sandwich, MA 02537
Casting into the Light: Tales of a Fishing Life Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747640
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pantheon - July 2nd, 2019