The Darlings: A Novel (Paperback)

The Darlings: A Novel By Hannah McKinnon Cover Image

The Darlings: A Novel (Paperback)

$17.99


In stock at our warehouse - Ships in 5-12 business days
On a secluded stretch of Cape Cod, a wedding is being planned at a beloved beach house—only for a long kept secret to emerge that hurtles both the wedding and the family off course, in this fresh, lyrical new novel from the acclaimed author of the “charming and warmhearted” (PopSugar) The Summer House.

At age ninety-two, Tish Darling is the matriarch and protector of what’s left of the Darling family fortune, including the decades-old beach house, Riptide. Located on the crook of Cape Cod, it’s a place she once loved but has not returned to in decades, since a tragic family accident one perfect summer day. Still, she is determined to keep Riptide in the family. Even if that means going back there on the cusp of her granddaughter’s wedding. Even if it means revealing someone else’s truth.

Her daughter-in-law Cora has her own complicated feelings surrounding Tish’s return as well as doubts about her place within the Darling family. After all, Cora came into the family carrying a secret that her husband promised to keep for her forever. Tish’s sudden return to Riptide may force everything they’ve worked so hard to protect out into the light.

Meanwhile, Cora’s eldest daughter, Andi isn’t exactly looking forward to her little sister’s wedding so soon after her own divorce. To make matters worse, her ex has arrived on the Cape with his insufferable new girlfriend. Andi has no idea how she’ll be able to survive this family reunion…until she bumps into an old friend from the past. A friend who may just offer her a second chance.

As the three distinct generations of Darling women arrive at Riptide, they have no idea that this summer will forever change them. One old secret, kept with the best of intentions, threatens to not only divide the family, but shatter each member’s sense of who they really are. Can the ties that bind survive, when the history you’ve always been told turns out to be untrue?
Hannah McKinnon is the author of several novels, including The Lake SeasonMystic SummerThe Summer HouseSailing LessonsThe View from HereMessage in the Sand, and The Darlings. She graduated from Connecticut College and the University of South Australia. She lives in Connecticut, with her family, a flock of chickens, and two raggedy rescue dogs.

Product Details ISBN: 9781982195533
ISBN-10: 1982195533
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English
"Readers of Susan Mallery will thoroughly enjoy this family drama."
— Library Journal

“Beach Reads Perfect for Summer 2023”
— Southern Living

“In the vein of J. Courtney Sullivan, Erin Hilderbrand, and Jennifer Close, and contrasting picturesque coastal perfection with the messiness of real life, this multigenerational saga sets familial obligations against the freedom of new opportunities, all wrapped up in a heartwarming bow.”
— Booklist

"Part delectable family drama, part testament to the various ways in which love blooms, Hannah McKinnon’s THE DARLINGS is an absolute treasure of a novel . . . Slip this one in your beach bag and share a copy with a friend."
— Kristy Woodson Harvey, New York Times bestselling author of THE WEDDING VEIL

"A perfect beach read! I loved it"
— Pamela Kelley, USA Today bestselling author of THE RESTAURANT

"Vivid and transporting—THE DARLINGS will sweep you off to Cape Cod, where an explosive secret threatens to fracture a close-knit family . . . Fans of Elin Hilderbrand will find a new favorite author in Hannah McKinnon. Compulsively readable and infused with warmth, THE DARLINGS is a perfect summer read."
— Kerry Kletter, author of EAST COAST GIRLS