The Puffin Keeper (Hardcover)

The Puffin Keeper Cover Image

The Puffin Keeper (Hardcover)

By Michael Morpurgo, Benji Davies (Illustrator)

$17.99


On Our Shelves Now
Titcomb's Bookshop
On hand as of May 26 5:33pm
(Children's 4-6)
From bestselling author Michael Morpurgo comes a beautifully illustrated classic story about a lighthouse keeper, a daring rescue and puffins, for fans of War Horse and The One and Only Ivan.

As a child, Allen is saved from a nautical disaster by Benjamin Postlethwaite, a solitary lighthouse keeper. Years later, Allen returns to the lighthouse, and the two nurse an injured young puffin back to health. When Allen is called up to fight in World War Two, he's not sure he'll see his mother or Benjamin again, but his fond memories of his time at the lighthouse keep him going, even through prison camp.
 
Allen and Ben's enduring friendship over the years is the basis for this story about friendship, art, war and an incredibly adorable puffin. From masterful storyteller Michael Morpurgo and world-class illustrator Benji Davies comes this truly beautiful tale which will enchant readers of all ages.
MICHAEL MORPURGO is one of Britain's best-loved storymakers. He has written over 150 books loved by readers around the world. His best-known work, War Horse, was adapted into a multi-Oscar-nominated film by Steven Spielberg and into a widely acclaimed play by the National Theatre. In 2003, Michael became the third Children's Laureate, a position he helped to create with the poet Ted Hughes. With his wife, he set up the charity Farms for City Children, and for their pioneering work they were both awarded the MBE in 1999. In 2017, he was awarded a knighthood for services to literature and charity.

BENJI DAVIES is an award-winning illustrator and author. Creator of the bestselling, acclaimed The Storm Whale, Grandad's Island and The Grotlyn, Benji's books have been co-editioned in over thirty-five languages and countries, gaining recognition worldwide. Benji is also the illustrator of the internationally successful Bizzy Bear board book series, which has topped three million sales globally.
Product Details ISBN: 9780735271807
ISBN-10: 0735271801
Publisher: Puffin Canada
Publication Date: February 15th, 2022
Pages: 112
Language: English
“[I]n this winning story of an enduring friendship . . . Morpugo’s spare, deeply felt prose, with undercurrents of the otherworldly . . . creates an irresistible momentum for this elegant story of the sea and a destiny fulfilled.” —STARRED REVIEW, Publishers Weekly

“Highly recommended, this novel provides a setting for numerous adventures for the young adult reader.”  Historical Novel Society

"An old-fashioned story in the very best sense, The Puffin Keeper also has unquestionable value today." —Imaginary Elevators

"The Puffin Keeper . . . is an interesting story generally well told and nicely illustrated." —CM: Canadian Review of Materials

"An emotional tale of people and creatures who forge joyful bonds, endure storms and carry on." —BookPage

“This is a grand adventure for young readers, boys and girls alike, but there are many moral lessons within like paying back someone who helped you.” —Story Monsters Ink