The Christmas Wager (Paperback)

The Christmas Wager By Holly Cassidy Cover Image

The Christmas Wager (Paperback)

$17.00


In stock at our warehouse - Ships in 5-12 business days
A delightful enemies-to-lovers holiday rom com set in the quaint mountain town of Maple Falls, Colorado, about a city girl and a small-town boy who compete in the town’s annual holiday games in order to win the right price for a charming, local Christmas shop, perfect for fans of The Hating Game and The Twelve Dates of Christmas.

One rivalry. Eight days until Christmas. Let the holiday games begin.

When L.A.-based real estate developer Bella Ross arrives in the sleepy mountain town of Maple Falls, she has one mission: to acquire the local failing Christmas shop, Always Noelle, securing the promotion of her dreams. Nothing can get in her way. Except the shop owner’s stubborn grandson, Jesse Harrison.

Both refuse to budge, until an unlikely wager is struck: Bella and Jesse will compete in the Maple Falls Holiday Games, an annual tradition of eccentric feats of strength and skills. Winner decides the selling price. They’ll give each other a run for their money, but as the competition heats up, Bella and Jesse’s icy feelings toward each other begin to thaw. It’ll take a Christmas miracle for them to admit there’s a spark, but what if it’s just another game?
Holly Cassidy is the pen name for internationally bestselling author Hannah Mary McKinnon. Her suspense novels include The Neighbors, Her Secret Son, Sister Dear, You Will Remember Me, Never Coming Home, and The Revenge List publishing May 2023. McKinnon was born in England, grew up in Switzerland, and now lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband and three sons. The Christmas Wager is her first novel writing as Holly Cassidy.

Product Details ISBN: 9780593544051
ISBN-10: 0593544056
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: September 26th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English
One of Reader’s Digest’s 22 Christmas Romance Books That Will Put You in the Holiday Spirit
One of Library Journal’s ‘Tis the Season for Romance Reads
One of Scary Mommy's 8 Holiday Novels to Buy This July—Because Christmas Can’t Come Soon Enough
One of Cultress’s New Romance Books of September 2023
One of Nerd Daily’s September 2023 Romance Book Releases
One of Beyond the Bookends's 14 of the Best New Christmas Books of 2023

“The perfect holiday romp full of laugh out loud shenanigans amid a delightful small town loaded with wintery charm. Bella and Jesse are simply magical…in this swoon worthy Christmas romance that will warm the coldest of hearts.” —Jenn McKinlay, author of Wait for It and Summer Reading

“Full of wit and charm, The Christmas Wager is better than a hot cup of cocoa after a fresh snowfall. I was smitten!” —Karma Brown, author of Recipe for a Perfect Wife

“[A] fluffy rom-com that would be right at home on the Hallmark channel...This simple, feel-good tale is just right for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.” —Publishers Weekly

“Escape to small-town life where the holiday spirit takes on a whole new meaning as tradition and family are tested by love, money, and one wacky community.” —Library Journal

“One of those Christmas romance books that opens like your favorite Hallmark Christmas movie…[A] hilarious, wholesome face-off between strangers who have every reason to hate each other—but can’t deny a seed of attraction.” —Reader’s Digest

“Full of hijinks and snow-filled fun, this holiday rom-com ticks all the boxes!” —Woman’s Day

“[A] really fun, well-written rom-com, that has everything you would want in this type of book. A good early holiday read.” —Red Carpet Crash

“Reminds me of a Hallmark Christmas movie….It’s everything I look for in a new Christmas book.” —Beyond the Bookends

“A delightful Christmas story, sure to envelop you in holiday cheer.” —K.A. Tucker, author of The Simple Wild

“Hilarious, warm and romantic…With a charming setting and a lovable cast of supporting characters, readers will root for Bella and Jesse in more ways than one. Let the games begin!” —Elyssa Friedland, author of The Most Likely Club and Last Summer at the Golden Hotel

“Sweetness and spice blend perfectly in this rivals-to-lovers story….Idyllic, snowy Maple Falls is a town you’ll never want to leave and Bella and Jesse are characters you’ll love to root for….Pure swoony, escapist fun. This book deserves to be on your classics shelf, reopened and savored every Christmas.” — Ashley Winstead, author of The Boyfriend Candidate and In My Dreams I Hold a Knife

“Romance readers are the winner in this spirited holiday romp that turns love into sport in all the best ways.” —Jean Meltzer, author of The Matzah Ball

"A delightfully witty romcom that will have you laughing and cheering as the holiday antics and romance rev up! Holly Cassidy’s talent for setting a scene shines from the first to the last page, sucking you in and bringing all the feels with her charming characters and heartfelt moments. Read up, Brinches! Your new favorite holiday romcom has arrived!" —Codi Hall, author of Nick and Noel’s Christmas Playlist

“As delicious and comforting as a warm cup of cocoa with cinnamon, The Christmas Wager is sure to delight!”—Uzma Jalaluddin, author of Ayesha at Last and Hana Khan Carries On

“A sweet and witty story with all the warm comfort of your favorite holiday rom-com movie!...Full of holiday hijinks, hilarious side characters, and the perfect cozy small-town setting….A complete delight!” —Farah Heron, author of Kamila Knows Best and Accidentally Engaged

“This book is for you if you love a good tussle, a spark of romance, and a competition of wills and skills. This isn’t your typical Rom-Com, it’s a Rom-Competition, and I’m here for it.” —Ann Garvin, author of I Thought You Said This Would Work

“An absolute treat! Like a hot cup of cocoa laced with a shot of Irish cream, it has all the small-town charm of a Hallmark movie and so much more. I laughed, I cried, I swooned. With a clever twist on the rivals to lovers trope, this is one of those cozy rom coms I’ll read again and again—perfect for a cold winter day, long flight, day at the beach, or anytime at all!” —Meredith Schorr, author of As Seen on TV