The Salt House (Paperback)

The Salt House Cover Image
$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jan 18 7:45pm
(Fiction)

Description


*Real Simple "Best Books of June"
*Refinery29 "Best Beach Reads of 2017"

*Bustle.com "17 Best Debut Novels by Women in 2017"

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Genova, this gorgeously written, heartbreaking, yet hopeful debut set during a Maine summer traces the lives of a young family in the aftermath of tragedy.

In the coastal town of Alden, Maine, Hope and Jack Kelly have settled down to a life of wedded bliss. They have a beautiful family, a growing lobster business, and the Salt House--the dilapidated oceanfront cottage they're renovating into their dream home. But tragedy strikes when their young daughter doesn't wake up from her afternoon nap, taking her last breath without making a sound.

A year later, each member of the Kelly family navigates the world on their own private island of grief. Hope spends hours staring at her daughter's ashes, unable to let go. Jack works to the point of exhaustion in an attempt to avoid his crumbling marriage. Their daughters, Jess and Kat, struggle to come to terms with the loss of their younger sister while watching their parents fall apart.

When Jack's old rival, Ryland Finn, threatens his fishing territory, he ignites emotions that propel the Kelly family toward circumstances that will either tear them apart--or be the path to their family's future.

Told in alternating voices, The Salt House is a layered, emotional portrait of marriage, family, friendship, and the complex intersections of love, grief, and hope.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501156557
ISBN-10: 1501156551
Publisher: Touchstone Books
Publication Date: June 13th, 2017
Pages: 304
Language: English